Events
  • Gallery 169 will be hosting the Otis College of Art and Design Communication Arts Graphic Design Junior Show, "5328," displaying a selection of work made over the five thousand twenty eight hours that make up the fall and spring semesters of the academic year. Work will include collected posters, publications, and typographic projects.
  • Clay, Body is a solo exhibition from artist Sydney Aubert: Unapologetically fat, crass, and sexual, a ceramics artist who also works in video, and whatever other materials arouse her in the moment. Exhibition will be on view from Monday, April 24 - Friday, April 28 at the Bolsky Gallery, Otis College of Art and Design. On view by appointment only, please contact the artist at sydney.aubert@gmail.com Reception: Thursday, April 27 | 6pm-9pm Bolsky Gallery, Otis College of Art and Design

  • Audrey Wollen is a feminist theorist and visual artist based in Los Angeles. Wollen uses social media, such as Twitter and Instagram, as platforms for her work on Sad Girl Theory, a theory which posits that internalized female sadness can be used as a radical and political action, separate from masculinized forms of protests such as anger and violence. She introduces this form of protest as an alternative to masculinized anger and violence.
  • Bring family and friends to reconnect with fellow alumni at the studio of Albert Valdez ('10) following Brewery ArtWalk, an open studio weekend with over 100 participating resident artists.

    Parking is located inside the Brewery campus.  

    Visit www.breweryartwalk.com for directions and other information. 

  • Otis Radio: Our Story`

    May 01| Special Event
    More

    Creative Action and the Otis Community Radio class present weekly broadcasts each Monday.

     

    This week from 4:00 - 5:00 pm is Our Story. Join DJ Wormlord (Maggie Gilbert), DJ Ace (Grace Kanchana), and DJ Mango (Stacy Li) as we have real talk in real time. Don't miss out!

     

    Listen online at KLMU.

    All shows will be simulcast on 96.1FM in the Otis Commons and archived on otisradio.tumblr.com

  • Creative Action and the Otis Community Radio class present weekly broadcasts each Monday.

     

    This week from 5:00 - 6:00 pm is The Girls Room with DJ Lonesome (Jaclyn Arellano), DJ Filth (Mady Preece), DJ Duchamp’s Urinal (Carly Goldstein). In this political climate, it is finally time to take charge of our own bodies and image. No more housewife norms to determine what a woman should look like. Join us in conversation with the tools of music and noise to express what it means to be a woman. We will challenge the definitions and misconceptions about masculinity and femininity, creating a space where women can feel free to ask questions and get answers from other women.

    Listen: http://edg-ord-kxlu.streamguys1.com/klmu

  • Zeal Harris is known for contemporary, seductive, colorful, caricaturesque, political, urban-vernacular, story paintings. She is a Los Angeles based visual artist and has been in exhibitions in Port Au Prince at Haiti’s Ghetto Biennale; in New York at the Caribbean Culture Center of the African Diaspora; in Arizona at The Mesa Contemporary Arts Museum; and in Los Angeles at the California African-American Museum, The Makeshift Museum, 18th Street Arts Center, Launch LA, and EXSLA at The Brewery.  Zeal has an MFA in Studio Art from Otis College of Art & Design. She occasionally teaches, works on public art projects, and works with community arts organizations.

O-Tube

Academic Calendars

Downloads (PDF) for offline use:

2016-2017  Academic Year
2017-2018  Academic Year
 

 

FALL 2016
 
Important Dates  
Open Registration Monday, April,18 - Friday, May 13
Registration Payment Deadline Wednesday, June 15
Late Registration ($275 late fee) Monday, August 1 – Friday, August 26
Classes Begin Monday, August 29
Course Add Deadline Tuesday, September 6
Independent Study Proposal Deadline Tuesday, September 6
Course Drop Deadline Tuesday, September 13
First Quarter Warnings Tuesday, September 20 - Monday, September 26
Midterm Exams & Warnings Tuesday, October 11 – Monday, October 17
Course Withdrawal Deadline Friday, November 4
Third Quarter Warnings Wednesday, November 9 – Tuesday, November 15
Spring Registration Begins Monday, November 21
Final Exams Monday, December 12 – Saturday, December 17
Spring Payment Deadline Thursday, December 15
Spring Open Registration Deadline Thursday, December 15 ($275 late fee after this date)
Classes End Saturday, December 17
   
Holidays  
Labor Day Monday, September 5
Election Day Tuesday, November 8
Thanksgiving Break Wednesday, November 23 – Sunday, November 27

Class Meeting Dates
Class meeting dates may be used to determine this semester's class meeting dates by day of the week.

  Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
1 Aug. 29 Aug. 30 Aug. 31 Sept. 1 Sept. 2 Sept. 3
2 Sept. 12 Sept. 6 Sept. 7 Sept. 8 Sept. 9 Sept. 10
3 Sept. 19 Sept. 13 Sept. 14 Sept. 15 Sept. 16 Sept. 17
4 Sept. 26 Sept. 20 Sept. 21 Sept. 22 Sept. 23 Sept. 24
5 Oct. 3 Sept. 27 Sept. 28 Sept. 29 Sept. 30 Oct. 1
6 Oct. 10 Oct. 4 Oct. 5 Oct. 6 Oct. 7 Oct. 8
7 Oct. 17 Oct. 11 Oct. 12 Oct. 13 Oct. 14 Oct. 15
8 Oct. 24 Oct. 18 Oct. 19 Oct. 20 Oct. 21 Oct. 22
9 Oct. 31 Oct. 25 Oct. 26 Oct. 27 Oct. 28 Oct. 29
10 Nov. 7 Nov. 1 Nov. 2 Nov. 3 Nov. 4 Nov. 5
11 Nov. 14 Nov. 15 Nov. 9 Nov. 10 Nov. 11 Nov. 12
12 Nov. 21 Nov. 22 Nov. 16 Nov. 17 Nov. 18 Nov. 19
13 Nov. 28 Nov. 29 Nov. 30 Dec. 1 Dec. 2 Dec. 3
14 Dec. 5 Dec. 6 Dec. 7 Dec. 8 Dec. 9 Dec. 10
15 Dec. 12 Dec. 13 Dec. 14 Dec. 15 Dec. 16 Dec. 17

 



 
 

SPRING 2017  
Important Dates  

Spring Payment Deadline

Thursday, December 15

Open Registration Deadline

Thursday, December 15 ($275 late fee after this date)

Late Registration ($275 late fee)

Tuesday, January 5 – Friday, January 13

Classes Begin

Tuesday, January 17

Course Add Deadline

Tuesday, January 24

Independent Study Proposal Deadline

Tuesday, January 24

Course Drop Deadline Tuesday, January 31
First Quarter Warnings Tuesday, February 7 – Tuesday, February 14
Named Scholarship Application Deadline Wednesday, February 15
Cal Grant Deadline Thursday, March 2
Midterm Exams & Warnings Saturday, March 4 – Friday, March 10
Course Withdrawal Deadline Friday, March 31
Third Quarter Warnings Tuesday, April 11 – Monday, April 17
Fall Registration Begins Monday, April 17
Final Exams Tuesday, May 2 - Tuesday, May 9
Classes End Tuesday, May 9
Fall Open Registration Deadline Friday, May 12
Fall Payment Deadline Thursday, June 15
Commencement Sunday, May 14
   
Holidays  
Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Monday, January 16
Presidents' Day Holiday Monday, February 20
Spring Break Monday, March 20 - Sunday, March 26

 

Class Meeting Dates
Class meeting dates may be used to determine this semester's class meeting dates by day of the week.

 
  Mondays Tuesdays Wednesdays Thursdays Fridays Saturdays
1 Jan. 23 Jan. 17 Jan. 18 Jan. 19 Jan. 20 Jan. 21
2 Jan. 30 Jan. 24 Jan. 25 Jan. 26 Jan. 27 Jan. 28
3 Feb. 6 Jan, 31 Feb. 1 Feb. 2 Feb. 3 Feb. 4
4 Feb. 13 Feb. 7 Feb. 8 Feb. 9 Feb. 10 Feb. 11
5 Feb. 27 Feb. 14 Feb. 15 Feb. 16 Feb. 17 Feb. 18
6 Mar. 6 Feb. 21 Feb. 22 Feb. 23 Feb. 24 Feb. 25
7 Mar. 13 Feb. 28 Mar. 1 Mar. 2 Mar. 3 Mar. 4
8 Mar. 27 Mar. 7 Mar. 8 Mar. 9 Mar. 10 Mar. 11
9 Apr. 3 Mar. 14 Mar. 15 Mar. 16 Mar. 17 Mar. 18
10 Apr. 10 Mar. 28 Mar. 29 Mar. 30 Mar. 31 Apr. 1
11 Apr. 17 Apr. 4 Apr. 5 Apr. 6 Apr. 7 Apr. 8
12 Apr. 24 Apr. 11 Apr. 12 Apr. 13 Apr. 14 Apr. 15
13 May 1 Apr. 18 Apr. 19 Apr. 20 Apr. 21 Apr. 22
14 May 8 Apr. 25 Apr. 26 Apr. 27 Apr. 28 Apr. 29
15 May 9 (Tu) May 2 May 3 May 4 May 5 May 6

 

 


SUMMER 2017

Bachelor of Fine Arts Program
Important Dates  
Summer Payment Deadline Monday, May 15
Classes Begin Monday, May 22
Course Add Deadline Tuesday, May 30
Independent Study Proposal Deadline Tuesday, May 30
Course Drop Deadline Tuesday, June 6
First Quarter Warnings Tuesday, June 6 - Monday, June 12
Midterm Exams & Warnings Tuesday, June 20 - Monday, June 26
Course Withdrawal Deadline Friday, July 7
Third Quarter Warnings Tuesday, July 11 - Monday, July 17
Final Exams Tuesday, July 25 - Tuesday, August 1
Classes End Tuesday, August 1
   
Holidays  
Memorial Day Monday, May 29
Independence Day Holiday Tuesday, July 4

Class Meeting Dates
Class meeting dates may be used to determine this semester's class meeting dates by day of the week.

 

  Mondays Tuesdays Wednesdays Thursdays Fridays
1 May 22 May 23 May 24 May 25 May 26
2 June 5 May 30 May 31 June 1 June 2
3 June 12 June 6 June 7 June 8 June 9
4 June 19 June 13 June 14 June 15 June 16
5 June 26 June 20 June 21 June 22 June 23
6 July 3 June 27 June 28 June 29 June 30
7 July 10 July 11 July 5 July 6 July 7
8 July 17 July 18 July 12 July 13 July 14
9 July 24 July 25 July 19 July 20 July 21
10 July 31 Aug. 1 July 26 July 27 July 28
           


 
 

SUMMER 2017 Graduate Graphic Design Program
Important Dates  
Summer Payment Deadline Monday, May 15
Classes Begin Monday, June 12
Course Add Deadline Tuesday, June 20
Independent Study Proposal Deadline Tuesday, June 20
Course Drop Deadline Wednesday, June 27
Course Withdrawal Dealine Friday, August 4
Semester Ends Monday, August 21
   
Holidays  
Independence Day Holiday Tuesday, July 4

Class Meeting Dates
Class meeting dates may be used to determine this semester's class meeting dates by day of the week.

 
  Mondays Tuesdays Wednesdays Thursdays Fridays
1 June 12 June 13 June 14 June 15 June 16
2 June 20 June 20 June 22 June 23 June 24
3 June 26 June 27 June 28 June 29 June 30
4 July 3 July 11 July 5 July 6 July 7
5 July 10 July 18 July 12 July 13 July 14
6 July 17 July 25 July 19 July 20 July 21
7 July 24 Aug. 1 July 26 July 27 July 28
8 July 31 Aug. 8 Aug. 2 Aug. 3 Aug. 4
9 Aug. 7 Aug. 15 Aug. 9 Aug. 10 Aug. 11
10 Aug. 14 Aug. 21 (Mon) Aug. 16 Aug. 17 Aug. 18