You are here

Convocation 2018

kim russo     carrie malcom     brosamle     linda hudson     tucker neel


2018 Convocation

On Wednesday, August 22, 2018 our program featured a welcome from President Ferguson and Interim Provost Kim Russo. We then honored some of Otis’ finest faculty members—Richard Lundquist, Lorenzo Hurtado Segovia, Kim De Marco, and Debra Valencia —in our annual Teaching Excellence Awards celebration. The awards were followed by a meaningful interactive session featuring a distinguished panel of internal experts, who presented briefly and then invited an active discussion on the question:

How can we help our current generation of students succeed?

  • What are the contemporary issues in higher education regarding the current demographic of students and their generational peer characteristics?
  • What are their student health and wellness needs?
  • What best teaching practices, pedagogies and support mechanisms can we fittingly provide to enhance student success?

The panel included a recent Otis College Alumnus, Assistant Professor, Tucker Neel, Director of Academic Advising, Carrie Malcom, Psychologist/Counseling Director, Rachel Brosamle, Chair of Foundation, Linda Hudson, and Interim Provost Kim Russo.

Going forward, we look forward to sharing with all those in attendance the information collected within your discussions. We appreciated learning from you, and about your experiences in the studios and classrooms, ideas and discoveries, and concerns for the future.

The Convocation adjourned with a faculty/staff luncheon and departmental faculty meetings.