You are here

Centennial: 100 Years of Otis College Alumni

Kim Fisher
New Exhibition at Ben Maltz Gallery Showcases 100 years of Alumni Work

Alison SaarBen Maltz Gallery at Otis College of Art and Design is pleased to present the exhibition Centennial: 100 Years of Otis College Alumni, on view September 7 – December 7, 2019. An opening reception will take place Saturday, September 7, from 5-8pm, open and free to the public. The exhibition is made possible by a generous grant from the Ralph M. Parsons Foundation.

Celebrating Otis College’s one hundredth year, Centennial is a group exhibition of selected works by notable alumni spanning the 1920s to the 2010s. Centennial offers a glimpse into both the range of artists who attended Otis College, as well as work that has come to represent a specific historical moment, focus, and aesthetic engagement. While the exhibition brings together artists working within diverse histories, places, and experiences, each work has a relationship to the present. Centennial is a nod to artistic process, as well as the 100 years of artists’ work sharing space in the Ben Maltz Gallery.

Alumni artists in the exhibition include the following: Bas Jan Ader (’65), Mary Sue Ader Anderson (’65), Kelly Akashi (’06), Michelle Andrade (’07), John Baldessari (’58) (in collaboration with Meg Cranston), Raul Baltazar (’13), Billy Al Bengston (’57), George Chann (’45), Katy Cowan (’13), Kohshin Finley (’12), Kim Fisher (’98), Teresa Flores (’13), Kristen Foster (’09), Gajin Fujita (’97), Kio Griffith (’86), Judithe Hernandez (’74), Dakota Higgins (’17), Noah Humes (’17), Sara Hunsucker (’02), Lorenzo Hurtado Segovia (’07), Dorothy Jeakins (’36), Joseph Mugnaini (’42), Sandeep Mukherjee (’96), Alan Nakagawa (’86), Ruben Ochoa (’99), Rick Owens (’81), The Perez Bros (’16), Kour Pour (’10), Ken Price (’57), Pamela Ramos (’16), Vincent Ramos (’02), Steve Roden (’86), Alison Saar (’81), Forouzan Safari (’17), Eduardo Sarabia (’99), JT Steiny (’84), Masami Teraoka (’64), Daveion Thompson (’16), Kent Twitchell (’77), Jeffrey Vallance (’81), Mark Dean Veca ('85), Tyrus Wong ('32), John Weston (’07), Bruce Yonemoto (’79), Liz Young (’84), Milford Zornes (’27).

Exhibition identity designed by Actual Source (Davis Ngarupe (’12)  and JP Haynie)

Images: (from top) Kim Fisher, no reason, 2016-2019, Oil and aluminum on dyed linen, 20 x 60 inches; Alison Saar, Grow’d, 2019, cast bronze, 78.5 x 39 x 38.75 inches