You are here

Visiting Writers Series

All events begin at 4:00 p.m. PT, are held online, and are free of charge. Please register in advance by following the registration links. Once registered, you will receive an event invitation and link to admission. 


Daniel W MonizSeptember 22: Dantiel W. Moniz 
Register for this event

Dantiel W. Moniz is the recipient of a Pushcart Prize, an Elizabeth George Foundation grant, the Alice Hoffman Prize for Fiction, and has been named a "Writer to Watch" by Publishers Weekly and Apple Books. Her debut collection, Milk Blood Heat, was an Indie Next Pick, an inaugural Roxane Gay Audacious Book Club pick, and has been hailed as "must-read" by TIME, Entertainment Weekly, Buzzfeed, Elle and O, The Oprah Magazine, among others. Her work has appeared in The Paris Review, Harper’s Bazaar, Tin House, One Story, American Short Fiction, Ploughshares, The Yale Review, McSweeney’s Quarterly Concern, and elsewhere. Moniz is an Assistant Professor of English at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. 

Marie-Helen BertinoOctober 13: Marie-Helene Bertino 
Register for this event

Marie-Helene Bertino is the author of the novels Parakeet, a New York Times Editors’ Choice and 2 A.M. at the Cat’s Pajamas, one of NPR’s Best Books of 2014, and the story collection Safe as Houses, winner of the Iowa Short Fiction Award. Her fourth book, the novel Beautyland, is forthcoming from FSG. Her work has been translated into eight languages and has received The Frank O’Connor International Short Story Fellowship in Cork, Ireland, The O. Henry Prize, The Pushcart Prize, fellowships from The MacDowell Colony, Hedgebrook Writers Colony, The Center for Fiction NYC, and Sewanee Writers Conference where she was the Walter E. Dakin fellow. Her work has twice been featured on NPR’s “Selected Shorts” program. A former editor for One Story and Catapult, she has taught in the MFA programs of NYU, The New School, Institute for American Indian Arts, University College Cork (Ireland), and others. In Spring 2020 she was the Distinguished Kittredge Visiting Writer in University of Montana’s MFA.


Eduardo C CorralNovember 10: Eduardo C. Corral
Register for this event

Eduardo C. Corral’s second collection of poetry, Guillotine, was awarded the 2021 Lambda Literary Award for gay poetry and was longlisted for the 2020 National Book Award for Poetry. His debut collection, Slow Lightening, won the Yale Younger Series Poets Award, making him the first Latinx recipient of this prize. His poems have appeared in Ambit, New England Review, The New Republic, Ploughshares, and Poetry. He's received residencies from the MacDowell Colony, Yaddo, and Civitella Ranieri, and been awarded a Whiting Writers' Award, a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, the Hodder Fellowship and the National Holmes Poetry Prize from Princeton University. He teaches in the MFA program in Creative Writing at North Carolina State University.

Dexter L BoothDecember 8: Dexter L. Booth 
Register for this event

Dexter L. Booth is the author of the poetry collections Abracadabra, Sunshine and Scratching the Ghost, which won the 2012 Cave Canem Poetry Prize, and the chapbook Rhapsody. His poems have been included in the anthologies The Best American Poetry 2015, The Burden of Light: Poems on Illness and Loss, The Golden Shovel Anthology honoring Gwendolyn Brooks, and Furious Flower: Seeding the Future of African American Poetry. Booth holds a Ph.D. in Creative Writing from USC and is a professor in the Ashland University MFA program.