You are here

Advising at Otis College

Central Academic, Studio, and Minor Advising all fall within the Advising umbrella at Otis College of Art and Design and are available to students every year.Through core programs and centralized advising students have access to pointed advising around individual pathways such as minors, choice of CA/IL courses, LAS electives and course makeup opportunities throughout their undergraduate studies.

Central Academic Advising Office

The Central Academic Advising Office at Otis College of Art and Design offers a diverse range of services to meet the advising needs of students. They offer Liberal Arts and Sciences advising and serve as anchors in navigating your first course at Otis College to your senior thesis show and graduation.Together with your departmentadvisor theyensure you are on track to graduate and fulfilling your academic goals.

Academic Advisors help with all circumstances impacting:

  • Guidance in course selection
  • Schedule planning
  • Make-up courses
  • Leave of absence/withdrawal
  • Travel study
  • Degree completion

For more information regarding degree requirements, students should review their Degree Works file.​Degree Worksis an online tool that allows students and Academic Advisors to review students’ progress towards degree completion and identify the most efficient route to graduation. This web-based tool provides students with an overview of the program requirements they have already satisfied and the requirements they have left to complete. Students are also encouraged to look over The Hoot for information regarding add/drop deadlines, graduation requirements, academic policies, and so much more.

Academic Advising

Academic Advising is available for Drop-In Hours to assist you in planning your schedule and preparing for Registration each semester.

Monday – Friday 10AM-12PM PST
otis.zoom.us/join ZOOM Meeting ID: 882 763 1873

When you join, please ask for your advisor:
Briana Murrell- Foundation
Michelle Andrade- Sophomore
Zac Henderson- Junior
Ricardo Estrada- Senior

Office locations on Campus in Fall 2021

Michelle Andrade, Academic Building, Room 155, (424) 207-3739 mcandrade@otis.edu
Ricardo Estrada, Ahmanson Building, Room 204A, (424) 207-3759 restrada@otis.edu
Zac Henderson, Ahmanson Building, Room 204, (310) 846-2550 zhenderson@otis.edu
Dr. Briana Murrell, Ahmanson Building, AHMN 607B, (424)207-3750 bmurrell@otis.edu

Appointments

Current students may also request one-on-one appointments with their advisor through the online Insight appointment scheduling software

Contact Information

Email: advising@otis.edu

Major Department Contacts

Department (or Major) chairs and faculty support your transition into the major and provide individual guidance in program of study-specific course selection, scheduling, and graduation checks as needed prior to registration each semester.

Artists, Community and Teaching (A. C. T.)*
Michele Jaquis
mjaquis@otis.edu
Bachelor of Fine Arts in Animation
Ron Bernard
rbernard@otis.edu
Bachelor of Fine Arts in Environmental Design
Linda Pollari
pollari@otis.edu
Bachelor of Fine Arts in Fashion Design
Mitra Rajabi (Sophomores)
mrajabi@otis.edu
Jill Zeleznik (Junior and Seniors)
jzeleznik@otis.edu
Appointments only:Byron LiCausi
byron@otis.edu
Bachelor of Fine Arts in Fine Arts
Meg Cranston
mcranston@otis.edu
Alex Slade
aslade@otis.edu
Bachelor of Fine Arts in Game Design
Joffery Black
jblack@otis.edu
Bachelor of Fine Arts in Graphic Design
Kali Nikitas
knikitas@otis.edu
Hazel Mandujano
hmandujano@otis.edu
Bachelor of Fine Arts in Illustration
Kali Nikitas
knikitas@otis.edu
Hazel Mandujano
hmandujano@otis.edu
Bachelor of Fine Arts in Product Design
Steve McAdam
smcadam@otis.edu
Jonathan Fidler
jfidler@otis.edu
Bachelor of Fine Arts in Toy Design
Joyce Mesch
jmesch@otis.edu
 
Creative Action: Integrated Learning *
Richard Shelton
rmshelton@otis.edu
Foundation Program
Moira Connelly mconnelly@otis.edu
Major declaration or academic progress
TeaYoun Kim-Kassor tkimkassor@otis.edu
Interdisciplinary Studies(Minors)*
Michele Jaquis
mjaquis@otis.edu
Liberal Arts and Science

Environmental Design students
Kerri Steinberg ksteinberg@otis.edu

Comm Arts students
Maggie Light mlight@otis.edu

Digital Media students
David Bremer dbremer@otis.edu

Fashion Design students
Roberta Panzanelli rpanzanelli@otis.edu

Fine Arts students
JoAnn Staten jstaten@otis.edu

Product Design students
Roberta Panzanelli rpanzanelli@otis.edu

Toy Design students
JoAnn Statenjstaten@otis.edu

Foundation students
JoAnn Staten jstaten@otis.edu
or Kerri Steinberg ksteinberg@otis.edu

Master of Fine Arts in Fine Arts
Meg Cranston
mcranston@otis.edu
Kathrin Burmester
kburmester@otis.edu
Master of Fine Arts in Graphic Design
Kali Nikitas
knikitas@otis.edu
Hazel Mandujano
hmandujano@otis.edu

*Advising for A.C.T., Interdisciplinary Studies, and Creative Action: Integrated Learning is offered by those offices, in addition to major advising.