You are here

Academic Advising

ADVISING AT OTIS COLLEGE

Central Academic, Studio, and Minor Advising all fall within the Advising umbrella at Otis College of Art and Design and are available to students every year. Through core programs and centralized advising students have access to pointed advising around individual pathways such as minors, choice of CA/IL courses, LAS electives and course makeup opportunities throughout their undergraduate studies. 


Central Academic Advising Office

The Central Academic Advising Office at Otis College of Art and Design offers a diverse range of services to meet the advising needs of students. They offer Liberal Arts and Sciences advising and serve as anchors in navigating your first course at Otis College to your senior thesis show and graduation. Together with your department advisor they ensure you are on track to graduate and fulfilling your academic goals.

Academic Advisors help with all circumstances impacting:

  • Guidance in course selection
  • Schedule planning
  • Make-up courses
  • Leave of absence/withdrawal
  • Travel study
  • Degree completion

For more information regarding degree requirements, students should review their Degree Works file. ​Degree Works is an online tool that allows students and Academic Advisors to review students’ progress towards degree completion and identify the most efficient route to graduation. This web-based tool provides students with an overview of the program requirements they have already satisfied and the requirements they have left to complete. Students are also encouraged to look over The Hoot for information regarding add/drop deadlines, graduation requirements, academic policies, and so much more. 


Academic Advising

Director of Academic Advising, Dr. Jeanne Herman, and Otis College Academic Advisors Michelle Andrade and Ricardo Estrada are available for Drop-In Hours to assist you in planning your schedule and preparing for Registration each semester. 

Mondays and Wednesdays: 2PM – 4PM PST
Thursdays and Fridays: 9AM – 12 PM PST
otis.zoom.us/join ZOOM Meeting ID: 987 123 6789

Appointments
Monday and Tuesday evening appointments (5PM-7PM PST) are prioritized for students living in international time zones only.
Current students may request appointments through the online Insight appointment scheduling software.  

Schedule an appointment

Contact Information

Email: advising@otis.edu


Major Department Contacts

Department (or Major) chairs and faculty support your transition into the major and provide individual guidance in program of study-specific course selection, scheduling, and graduation checks as needed prior to registration each semester.

Architecture/Landscape/Interiors
Linda Pollari
pollari@otis.edu
Artists, Community and Teaching (A. C. T.)*
Michele Jaquis
mjaquis@otis.edu
Communication Arts
Kali Nikitas
knikitas@otis.edu
Joe Potts
jpotts@otis.edu
Digital Media
Harry Mott
hmott@otis.edu
Kathleen Milnes
kmilnes@otis.edu
 
Fashion Design
Mitra Rajabi (Sophomores)
mrajabi@otis.edu
Jill Zeleznik (Junior and Seniors)
jzeleznik@otis.edu
Appointments only: Byron LiCausi
byron@otis.edu
Fine Arts

Alex Slade
aslade@otis.edu

Meg Cranston
mcranston@otis.edu

Foundation Program
Moira Connelly mconnelly@otis.edu                                                                       
Major declaration or academic progress
Linda Hudson lhudson@otis.edu
 
Creative Action: Integrated Learning *
Richard Shelton
rmshelton@otis.edu
 
Liberal Arts and Science

A/L/I students
Melissa Lo mlo@otis.edu
                                                          
Comm Arts students
Maggie Light mlight@otis.edu
                                 
Digital Media students
David Bremer dbremer@otis.edu
    
Fashion Design students
Roberta Panzanelli rpanzanelli@otis.edu 
         
Fine Arts students
JoAnn Staten jstaten@otis.edu
       
Product Design students
Roberta Panzanelli rpanzanelli@otis.edu   

Toy Design students
JoAnn Staten jstaten@otis.edu

Foundation students
JoAnn Staten jstaten@otis.edu
or Melissa Lo mlo@otis.edu

Interdisciplinary Studies (Minors)*
Michele Jaquis
mjaquis@otis.edu
 
Product Design
Jonathan Fidler
jfidler@otis.edu
 
Toy Design
Joyce Mesch
jmesch@otis.edu
 

*Advising for A.C.T., Interdisciplinary Studies, and Creative Action: Integrated Learning is offered by those offices, in addition to major advising.