You are here

Teaching Excellence Awards Recipients

Distinguished Educator

Eddy Award: Outstanding Teacher of the Year

Excellence in Teaching

Otis and the LAX Coastal Area Chamber of Commerce annually honor one outstanding Otis faculty member. The Chamber presents this award at its annual Teacher Recognition Dinner. The Eddy Award/Distinguished Educator Award recipient receives $2,500, is introduced at Commencement, and honored at the annual faculty Convocation.

Each year one Part-Time and one Full-Time faculty member each receive the Excellence in Teaching Award. Both recipients receive $1,250, are introduced at Commencement, and honored at the annual faculty Convocation.

See written comments submitted with prior years' Teaching Excellence Awards nominations here.

2021 Distinguished Educator

Chris Warner
Associate Professor, Foundation

Chris Warner

2021 Teaching Excellence

JoAnn Staten, Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts and Sciences (Full-Time)
Roni Feldman, Assistant Professor, Foundation (Part-Time)

JoAnn Staten   Roni Feldman

2020 Distinguished Educator

Chris Eckardt,
Associate Professor, Digital Media

Chris Eckardt

2020 Teaching Excellence

Tucker Neel, Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts and Sciences (Full-Time)
Emma Kemp, Assistant Professor, Foundation (Part-Time)

Tucker Neel   Emma Kemp

2019 Distinguished Educator

Soo Kim,
Professor, Fine Arts

Soo Kim

2019 Teaching Excellence

Silas Munro, Asst. Professor, Communication Arts (Full-Time)
George Fuentes, Lecturer, Digital Media (Part-Time)

 Silas Munro   George Fuentes

2018 Distinguished Educator

Richard Lundquist,
Adjunct Professor,

Richard Lundquist

2018 Teaching Excellence

Lorenzo Hurtado Segovia, Associate Professor, Communication Arts (Full-Time)
Kim De Marco, Assistant Professor, Communication Arts (Part-Time)

 Lorenzo Hurtado Segovia   kim de marco

2017 Distinguished Educator

JT Steiny, Senior Lecturer, Communication Arts

JT Steiny

2017 Teaching Excellence

Joanne Mitchell, Associate Professor, Foundation (Full-Time)
Jessica Ngo, Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts and Sciences (Part-Time)

 joanne mitchell   jessica ngo

2016 Distinguished Educator

Jim Starret, Professor, Foundation

Jim Starrett

2016 Teaching Excellence

Siri Kaur, Associate Professor, Fine Arts, Foundation (Full-Time)
Laura Barbera, Senior Lecturer, Digital Media (Part-Time)

Siri Kaur    laura barbera


2015 Distinguished Educator

Christian Mounger, Associate Professor, Foundation

Christian Mounger

2015 Teaching Excellence

Marlena Donohue, Associate Professor, Liberal Studies, Grad Fine Arts (Full-Time)
Chris Badger, Assistant Professor, Fine Arts, Foundation (Part-Time)

Marlena Donohue Chris Badger


2014 Distinguished Educator

Dana Duff, Professor, Fine Arts and Graduate Public Practice

Dana Duff

2014 Teaching Excellence

Jason Burton, Assistant Professor, Product Design and Foundation (Full-Time)
William ‘Bill’ Sneed, Lecturer, Digital Media (Part-Time)

Jason Burton William Sneed

2013 Distinguished Educator

Harry Mott, Chair, Digital Media

Harry 2

2013 Teaching Excellence

Bill Kelley, Jr. Lecturer, Graduate Public Practice (Part-Time)
Renee Petropoulous, Associate Professor, Graduate Fine Arts (Full-Time)

bill kelley Renee P

2012 Distinguished Educator

Gary Geraths, Associate Professor, Foundation and Digital Media

Gary DEA

2012 Teaching Excellence

Mark Wyse, Senior Lecturer, Fine Arts (Part-Time)
Meg Cranston Chair, Fine Arts (Full-Time)

Mark Wyse TEA Meg Cranston

2011 Distinguished Educator

Jill Higashi-Zeleznik, Assistant Chair, Fashion Design.

Jill Higashi-Zeleznik

2011 Teaching Excellence

Carol Branch, Adjunct Assistant Professor, Liberal Studies (Part Time).
Erin Hauber, Assistant Professor, Communication Arts (Full Time).

Dr. Branch Erin Hauber

2010 Distinguished Educator

Scott Grieger, Professor, Fine Arts

Scott TEA

2010 Teaching Excellence

Anthony Young, Professor, Fashion Design (Full-Time)
Robert Summers, Lecturer, Liberal Studies (Part-Time)

Tony TEA Robert S TEA

Other faculty members have received the Eddy Award:

2009: Michael Schrier
2008: Christian Mounger
2007: Heather Joseph-Witham
2006: James Starrett
2005: Randall Lavender
2004: Joan Takayama-Ogawa
2003: Parme Giuntini
2002: Debra Ballard
2001: Ave Pildas
2000: Rosemary Brantley
1999: Robert L. Glover
1998: Katie Philips
1997: Scott Grieger and Kathryn Hagen